You are here: Home » Other Houston Areas » Fort Bend County

Fort Bend County

Fort Bend County was created in 1837 from portions of three Texas counties: Austin, Harris and Brazoria. The name originated from a blockhouse that was built in 1822 named “Fort Bend” because it was constructed on a large bend of the Brazos River. Today, the area around the fort is known as Richmond and it is the present county seat of Fort Bend County.

Encompassing a total area of 875 square miles and home to a growing population of over half a million, Fort Bend County is considered a part of the Houston-The Woodlands-Sugar Land, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area. Surrounded by the counties of Harris, Austin, Waller, Wharton and Brazoria, its largest employers include its school districts as well as Fluor Corporation, the Methodist Sugar Land Hospital, and Schlumberger Technology Corp.

Offering a variety of residential options, outstanding schools, and a thriving business environment with convenient access to just about everything in the Greater Houston area – as well as numerous cultural and recreational opportunities – Fort Bend County’s high quality of life is second to none. The county has been constantly regarded as one of the most family-friendly communities in Texas, not to mention one of the safest communities in America.


Fort Bend County includes the following major cities, towns, and villages:

  • Arcola
  • Beasley
  • Fairchilds
  • Fulshear
  • Katy (mostly in Harris County)
  • Kendleton
  • Meadows Place
  • Missouri City
  • Needville
  • Orchard
  • Pearland (mostly in Brazoria County)
  • Pleak
  • Richmond
  • Rosenberg
  • Simonton
  • Stafford
  • Sugar Land
  • Thompsons
  • Weston Lakes


Fort Bend has many exceptional schools and accredited universities and colleges that have earned various accolades and high marks for academic excellence across the board.

School Districts:

  • Brazos Independent School District
  • Fort Bend Independent School District
  • Katy Independent School District
  • Lamar Consolidated Independent School District
  • Needville Independent School District
  • Stafford Independent School District

Higher Education:

  • University of Houston System – Sugar Land
  • University of Houston System – Cinco Ranch
  • Houston Community College
  • Wharton County Junior College
No Matches Found

Footer Logos